Matthew McInnes Award
Each year since 1998 the Matthew McInnes Award has been presented during Synod to recognise outstanding service to the youth of the Diocese of Wangaratta. Last year’s recipient was Michael Groves whose many leadership roles and contributions to the community of Wangaratta included Captain of Cathedral College Wangaratta and as a long-time Cathedral Chorister. Earlier this year Michael was named Young Citizen of the Year during the Australia Day celebrations of the Rural City of Wangaratta. The Matthew McInnes Award was established by Fr Ray and Mrs Glenys McInnes to honour their son Matthew who died in a car accident not long before Fr Ray became Dean of the Cathedral following his years as Rector of Benalla. Matthew had been very active in youth ministry in the diocese. Now is the time to consider possible persons or groups who might be nominated for this award in 2017. Nominations should be sent to the Bishop by Friday 26th May. Post nominations to PO Box 457, Wangaratta 3676 or email