The Council of the Diocese (Bishop in Council) is set up under the “Council of the Diocese Act”. Its role is to advise the Bishop in temporal matters and on any other matters such as mission and ministry as the Bishop chooses. Various enactments of the Synod may require the Bishop to seek its assent before he can act. Its membership consists of 3 laity and 3 clergy elected from Synod, 6 members appointed by the Bishop and members ex officio.

Members of Bishop in Council

Ex Officio

  • The Bishop The Right Revd A J Parkes AM
  • The Dean The Very Revd K A Goodger
  • The Archdeacons The Ven Alan Jarrad The Ven P N Macleod-Miller
  •  The Chancellor The Hon Justice C E Croft
  • The Advocate Mr D L Parsons
  • Chair of Committees
  • Ms Rachel Ellyard
  • The Registrar Mr T D L Williams
  • The Treasurer Mr N V Kenny
  • The Revd Kim Benton Term ends 2016
  • The Revd Sally Boothey Term ends 2017
  • The Revd Peter Tinney Term ends 2018


  • Mr Alan Garside Term ends 2016
  • Ms Rebecca Litton Term ends 2017
  • Mrs Margaret Brickhill Term ends 2018

Bishop's Appointment

  • Mr David Ritchie Term ends 2016 The Revd P McKeague Term ends 2016 The Revd Canon M Jones Term ends 2017 The Revd D Still Term ends 2017 Mrs Cathy Carden Term ends 2018 The Revd E Nicholls Term ends 2018